LB Board of Water Commissioners re-elects Clarke as new president

<strong>Frank Clarke</strong>

Frank Clarke

Long Beach resident Frank Clarke was elected president of the Long Beach Board of Water Commissioners by unanimous vote last week, at a meeting of the Board at the Long Beach Groundwater Treatment Plant. Currently the longest serving member on the Board, Clarke, who was originally appointed to the Board by Mayor Beverly O’Neill in June 2003, is serving his second term. Also elected during the meeting were Bill Townsend as vice president and John Allen as secretary.
“I look forward to serving as president of the Board of Water Commissioners this next year, my second time serving in this role since I was initially appointed to the Board eight years ago,” Clarke said. “We have accomplished a lot during my time on the Board, and we will continue to work with Water Department staff to maintain our status as one of the best municipal water agencies in the nation.”
Clarke will begin his official duties as president on Oct. 1. He takes over for outgoing president, Dr. Suzanne Dallman, who served in the position during the previous year.
Clarke was a cofounder of Educate the Children, a nonprofit organization that provides educational materials and technology to school districts throughout the nation in order to raise the level of learning for the country’s most needy children. Clarke has had a broad-based career in radio and television advertising, real estate, and many voluntary public service projects. Additionally, he served as a captain in the United States Army Reserve. He has received The Caring Award, the John Harvard Award from the Harvard-Radcliffe Club of Southern California, and the President’s Service Award, presented to him and his wife at the White House.
He received degrees from Boston University’s General College and San Francisco State University, and he studied broadcast management and cable television at the University of Southern California.
Since 1931, the Water Department has been governed by a Board of five water commissioners, each appointed to a five-year term by the mayor and subject to approval by the City Council.

More Information

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *