Lowenthal, Legislative Women’s Caucus announce recipients of ‘Breaking the Glass Ceiling’ Award

<strong>Assemblymember Nancy Skinner, Assemblymember Bonnie Lowenthal, actress and chair of the California Commission on the Status of Women and Girls Geena Davis, Speaker John A. Pérez and Assemblymember Connie Conway during the March 4 celebration of Women’s History Month during Floor Session of the California Assembly.</strong>
Assemblymember Bonnie Lowenthal (D-Long Beach), chair of the Legislative Women’s Caucus, launched Women’s History Month with the announcement of the 11 recipients of the first annual “Breaking the Glass Ceiling” Awards.
“Today we’re celebrating pioneers in science, civil rights, the arts, education, our armed forces, our courts, and our government,” Lowenthal said. “In each of our honorees, we see the best of the California spirit.”
The honorees include:
• Dr. Frances A. Arnold, co-founder of Gevo, Inc. and the only woman to receive the Draper Price from the U.S. National Academy of Engineering
• The Honorable Yvonne B. Burke, former Assemblymember and the first California African-American woman to be elected to the U.S. Congress, and the first African-American elected to the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors
• Laphonza Butler, president of SEIU ULTCW, the United Long-Term Care Workers Union, which represents 180,000 in-home caregivers and nursing home workers across California
• Weili Dai, co-founder of the Marvell Technology Group, and the only female co-founder of a global semiconductor company
• Marie Zoe Dunning, graduate of the United States Naval Academy, one of the first military members to be prosecuted under “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”
• Mildred Garcia, president of California State University (CSU) Fullerton, and first Latina president in the CSU system
• Sally J. Rogers, professor of psychiatry at the University of California Davis MIND Institute and developer of the Early Start Denver Model
• Jennifer Harris Trosper sent two rovers to Mars as part of the NASA Mars Exploration Rover Mission
• The Honorable Rosalind “Roz” Wyman, former Los Angeles city councilmember and champion of the National Endowment for the Arts
• Kathryn Doi Todd, associate justice, first Asian-American woman judge in the country
• Geena Davis, chair of the California Commission on the Status of Women and Girls, Academy Award winner and founder of the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in the Media

The women were honored during the Assembly’s celebration of Women’s History Month during Floor Session on March 4. The “Breaking the Glass Ceiling” Awards were developed by the Legislative Women’s Caucus to celebrate the success of California women in breaking barriers in the fields of science, technology, the arts, the judiciary, and beyond.

Source: Lowenthal’s office


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>