Free concerts offered during summer throughout Long Beach, Signal Hill

The cities of Long Beach and Signal Hill are hosting several free concerts for the public throughout the summer.

As part of Long Beach Community Band concerts, Shoreline Symphonic Winds, under the direction of artistic director Greg Flores, will perform show tunes, movie soundtracks and traditional and contemporary concert favorites prior to the showing of feature films in parks as part of City of Long Beach Parks and Recreation “Movies in the Park” program.

For more information, visit shorelinewinds.org or call (562) 570-8921.

• Friday, July 10 at 7pm, Wardlow Park, 3457 Stanbridge Ave.

• Friday, July 24 at 7pm, Houghton Park, 6301 Myrtle Ave.

• Monday, Aug. 10 at 7pm, Pan American Park, 5157 E Centralia St.

• Friday, Aug. 21 at 7pm, Stearns Champions Park, 4520 23rd St.
Rancho Los Cerritos, 4600 Virginia Rd., is presenting free summer concerts for which attendees may pack a picnic dinner and enjoys music on the historic grounds. Gates open for picnicking after 4:30pm., concerts last from 5:30pm to 7pm. Adobe home will be open for tours. Pets are not allowed.

• July 26 at 5:30pm, Chet Getz Cool, tribute band to jazz

• Aug. 23 at 5:30pm, The Walking Phoenixes pay homage to Johnny Cash
El Dorado Park West, 2800 Studebaker Rd., will host the following free community concerts at 6:30pm: • Friday, Aug. 7, Elm St. Band

• Friday, Aug. 14, The Emperors

• Friday, Aug. 21, Leftovers Cuties Call (562) 570-3150 for more information.
The City will also host a Latin jazz and blues fest on Saturday, Aug. 15 at Houghton Park, 6301 Myrtle Ave.
The summer-concert series will end with a finale show by ‘80s tribute band Young Guns at Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way, from 6pm to 8pm on

• Friday, Aug. 28. The event will include food trucks and a kids zone.
The Long Beach Municipal Band, which is now in its 106th year of performing, is also presenting free concerts at 6:30pm on the following dates:

• Thursday, July 9 at Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way

• Friday, July 10 at El Dorado Park West, 2800 Studebaker Rd. • Tuesday, July 14 at Bixby Park/ Bluff Park, 130 Cherry Ave.

• Wednesday, July 15 at Los Cerritos Park, 515 W San Antonio Dr. • Thursday, July 16 at Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way

• Friday, July 17 at El Dorado Park West, 2800 Studebaker Rd.

• Tuesday, July 21at Bixby Park/ Bluff Park, 130 Cherry Ave.

• Wednesday, July 22 at Los Cerritos Park, 515 W San Antonio Dr. • Thursday, July 23 at Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way

• Friday, July 24 at El Dorado Park West, 2800 Studebaker Rd. • Tuesday, July 28 at Bixby Park/ Bluff Park, 130 Cherry Ave.

• Wednesday, July 29 at Los Cerritos Park, 515 W San Antonio Dr. • Thursday, July 30 at Marine Stadium, 5255 Paoli Way

• Friday, July 31 at El Dorado Park West, 2800 Studebaker Rd.

The City of Signal Hill is hosting its summer concert series at Signal Hill Park, 2175 Cherry Ave., with performances on Wednesdays at 6:30pm.

• July 8, Boxcar 7– Jazz, blues and funk

• July 15, DSB– Journey tribute band

• July 22, Bella Donna– Stevie Nicks and Fleetwood Mac tribute • July 29, The Smokin’ Cobras– Rockin’ oldies revue

• Aug. 5, Abbey Road– Beatles tribute band

• Aug. 12, Neon Nation– ‘80s music

For more information, contact the Community Services Department at (562) 989-7330.

Source: Cities of LB, SH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *