LB Symphony concert to feature local chorale


Robert Istad

Courtesy LB Camerata Singers

Four professional soloists, 80 voices from Long Beach Camerata Singers and 62 musicians from the Long Beach Symphony will combine forces to bring Mozart’s Requiem mass to life at the Terrace Theater of the Long Beach Performing Arts Center, 300 E. Ocean Blvd., at 8pm on Saturday, April 29.
The Symphony will welcome conductor Robert Istad to the podium for this all-Mozart program that will begin with the composer’s Overture to The Magic Flute, composed in 1791, just nine weeks before his death.
Composed much earlier, in 1773 when Mozart was only 17 years old, the composer’s Symphony No. 25 in G minor, will round out the first portion of the program.
“This work represents the first truly mature work of Mozart’s symphonic career and embodies the dramatic flair of classic era ‘sturm and drang,’” Istad said.
Following intermission, the Long Beach Camerata Singers will join the symphony on stage for Mozart’s Requiem in D Minor, also composed in 1791 but unfinished at the time of his death. Stories abound, as factiously portrayed in the 1984 film Amadeus, concerning who actually completed it, though most scholars attribute its final iteration to Suessmayer in 1792.
Guest soloists will include soprano Elissa Johnston, whom audiences may remember from her performance of Barber’s Knoxville: Summer of 1915 last season, alto I-Chin Lee, tenor Nicholas Preston and bass Randall Gremillion.
“We are thrilled to join with our artistic partners, the Long Beach Camerata Singers, to present this musical masterpiece to the community,” said Long Beach Symphony Executive Director Kelly Lucera.
Patrons are invited to come early for a 7pm pre-concert talk led by Istad and to enjoy music by the Cal State Long Beach String Quartet in the lobby.
Tickets to the Long Beach Symphony’s Classical concerts start at $25 with student tickets available for $10. More information is available at or (562) 436-3203 ext. 1.

Source: LB Symphony

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *