MTW’s Producers grabs two Ovation acting awards

Musical Theatre West took home top honors on Jan. 11 at the annual LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards for the 2008/2009 awards season.
Musical Theatre West received more nominations than any other regional musical theatre company this season and walked away with two awards. Musical Theatre West’s production of The Producers took both Featured Acting in a Musical honors. Sarah Cornell won for her performance as Ulla and Michael Paternostro won for his performance as Carmen Ghia.
Musical Theatre West also garnered nominations for:

Acting Ensemble– Forbidden Broadway: Greatest Hits Volume 1: Whitney Allen, Susanne Blakeslee, David Engel and Larry Raben
Featured Actor in a Musical– The Producers– David Engel as Roger DeBris
Music Direction– The Producers– Daniel Thomas

Established in 1989, The Ovation Awards were established to celebrate artistic excellence in theatre production, design and performance and to bring attention to the Greater LA theatre community. The LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards are the only peer-judged theatre awards in Los Angeles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *