In 1895, a group of women formed the Alamitos Library Association. Jotham Bixby Sr. donated this land in 1897 and funds were raised to construct the first library building. In 1909 the City of Long Beach annexed this area, and in 1910 the Alamitos Library officially became a Long Beach branch when the Alamitos Library Association deeded the property over to the City with the understanding that the City would maintain the library.
By 1928 the building had become inadequate, and the collection was moved to a rented building while the current library was constructed. This building, a replica of a castle in Spain, with wrought-iron railings, decorated beams, and a patio with an art tile fountain, opened in January 1929. On March 10, 1933, a major earthquake damaged the building. At first, service was resumed in the yard. In 1936 the building was closed for repairs. It reopened again in 1938.
The community is invited to join Long Beach Mayor Bob Foster and Vice Mayor Suja Lowenthal on Saturday, Sept. 25 at 10am at the Alamitos Library, 1836 East Third St., to celebrate 100 years of the branch’s public service in Long Beach.
Historic photos will be on display throughout the day, and the Friends of the Long Beach Public Library will host a special one-day book sale.
The public is invited to explore the resources of the library and commemorate this historic public sanctuary. Refreshments will be provided by the Friends of the Long Beach Public Library. Street parking is available.